bucks life

By bucksmiss

Chariots of Fire

This Sunday each year, I volunteer as a counter or marshal at the annual Cambridge Chariots of Fire Fun Run relay in which 360 teams of six runners complete six laps of a super 1.7 mile course through the historic colleges as seen in the film, Chariots of Fire. The numbers are incredible and you get all comers, very competitive speedy types and the odd walker, with fancy dress and everything else in between. It's great fun to be around and all proceeds go to a chosen charity. Over 20 years nearly one million pounds has been raised.

For me it requires getting up at 6.30am and getting to Cambridge by 8am to get parked close along the Backs. I arrived early but managed to miss the briefing for my usual counting job (I was in the loo queue!) so was allocated a spot marshalling unsuspecting tourists out of the way of the runners in the quad of Clare College. It was a lovely, fresh, sunny morning and the race went without a hitch.

My blip is of the iconic and simply stunning King's College chapel, taken from across the water meadows of the Backs at about 9am. I love the early sun hitting the honey coloured stone and the two restful cows who placidly ignored all the hubbub around them.

On the way back, I took a quick trip to Ikea for a new kitchen lighting strip and as per usual got carried away and arrived home with the said lights but also, quite unintentionally, a sheepskin rug, a cuddly cream coloured throw, two washing up brushes and some frozen prawns! Nuts!

Saints play Newcastle today which ought to be plain sailing. I think I'll do some admin and have I'll have a quiet evening in preparation for working week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.