1day>1week>1month>1year

By cowgirl

Happy New Year!!

Today is the Jewish New Year's Day, Rosh Hashana ( Rosh = head, ha= the, shana= year ).

It's traditional to symbolise this by eating pieces of apple dipped in honey.

I picked some apples from Lou's tree whilst there last Sunday and forced myself to stay awake long enough to bake an apple cake last night ( a bit late as we should have been eating it by then - Jewish festivals begin the evening before the day ).

I had a piece for breakfast, with honey, and then another piece after walkies with Jo and Fossey. Jo and I had a lot of catching up to do, the walk wouldn't have been long enough on its own, so we had coffee and cake afterwards.

I'm tempted to take some to work this afternoon, but I can't eat cake all day ..... can I?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.