Dérive

By oneD

War Painting

I'm going to be taking a break from Blip for a short while, partly due to poor connections in the Lake District and also to think.

Many thanks for the wonderful comments on my illustration two days ago.

----------------------------

Yesterday, I came across some young primary school children drawing from Hockney prints at Salts Mill. They were all passionately engaged with their tasks - each one totally absorbed in a pencil drawing. They inspired me with their lack of inhibition and the joyful enthusiasm - they jumped into drawing with instant absorption, fun and application. A Bigger Splash I felt for sure !

And later, I came across this article in a magazine (The Times 2014) talking about the wonderful 'painterly' images of photographers in recent wars. It surprised me by it's overt celebration the phenomenon. (especially when combined with editing.)

I felt the line these two were on............ & in my bag are my camera and my sketchbook .............

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.