The Little Lyle Files

By kevinwatters

Local Bake Off

Not my handy work but that of Mrs W, who has been baking cakes for the Macmillan Cancer Support World’s Largest Coffee Morning tomorrow.

For obvious reasons, this is an organisation that is dear to our heart and, although I never needed direct support from them, Macmillan Cancer Support were a valuable source of information that helped me face my own cancer battle with much more confidence than otherwise I would have done. If you are aware of anyone who is facing such a challenge in their life, even as a carer, then I would recommend that they be directed to Macmillan who will be able to offer direct or indirect support.

Today marks exactly six months since my surgery to remove the tumour that posed a direct threat to my life. Six weeks ago today, I returned to hospital to have a reversal of the ileostomy that was formed to allow my original wound healed. How did we celebrate? Well me and Mrs W went back to the hospital for the first of my six-monthly CT scans to pick up any future tumours at an early stage.

Hopefully, Mrs W's colleagues will dig deep tomorrow for their lovely brownies as shown above, a slice of lemon drizzle cake or a slice of the cherry and almond cake that is currently in the oven.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.