Caramacs & Monkey Socks

By AmyW

Dean Cemetery

It's Doors Open Day in Edinburgh this weekend, and I managed to get some tickets for a tour of Dean Cemetery - something I've wanted to go on for a long time, but they don't happen that often.
There are a lot of famous people buried here, and while we weren't taken to see a lot of them, what we did learn about the history of the place was really interesting. I might go back for another wander sometime.

Some of the people here include Cadell, J D Fergusson, Thomas Bouch (the engineer who designed the Tay rail bridge), Isabella Bird, William Henry Playfair, Peploe, and Henry Cockburn (The Cockburn Association and Cockburn St were named after him).
Lieutenant John Irving, who was part of the Franklin Arctic Expedition, is also there, as well as Robert Anstruther Goodsir, who was one of the men who went in search of the Franklin Arctic Expedition.
I learned a lot this afternoon!

(I've added a few blips from 3rd Sept onwards, and that's me up to date now. I'm going to try and get better at adding them closer to the right dates from now on!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.