The Little Lyle Files

By kevinwatters

Tidy Mess

I know it doesn’t make sense but this is a blip of me in the tidying process but that usually involves making a mess. This is all in a good cause as I have revisited the need to sort out the paperwork that I removed from my parents’ flat after my dad died last year. The trigger for this activity is that we have a buyer for the flat and it is the opportunity to wrap everything up and move on.

The pile of papers in the foreground is selected for shredding as there are so many papers with personal information on them due to my dad’s inability to throw anything out. We cleared a lot of his papers when we emptied the flat but this is the stuff I just didn’t get time to sift through at that time. The good thing is that within years worth of utility bills, there re a few gems that document the history of my parents’ property moves through the years so it helps me fill in a bit of the family history.

I’m sure most people have the same situation but, having found many of the papers, the people that I need to help fill in some of the gaps are the very people who are no longer with us to do so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.