Return to the North

By Viking

Road trip home

Decided to head for home today. The forecast wasn't great and I didn't set off that early but had vaguely intended doing the trip all in one go. Also thought the forecast for in land Canterbury was so bad I had best go down the coast. I got as far as Rakaia Gorge when a message from TeeJay in Tekapo said that she was sitting in glorious sunshine. Told her to stay where she was and we would meet there for lunch - bugger the boring route and so I headed in land.
The weather at Tekapo was indeed glorious and TeeJay and I had a good catch up while she waited for her camper van window to arrive ! Then it was 'on the road again'

10km out of Tekapo the hail started and I thought I was isn for it! I pulled off the road and booked ahead at a motel in Wanaka, having decided didn't want to
be on the road too long in crap weather.
This was the view just before the Ohau turn off and you can see the sun was really trying. By Omarama the sun was indeed shining again and Wanaka is bathed in glorious sunshine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.