Return to the North

By Viking

Home again, home again jiggly jig

My stop off in Wanaka last night wasn't the best I've had! The motel was 4.5 stars but am not sure where they got them from. The room was clean I suppose but it was small, the TV didn't have SKY (picky I know but still when am looking at 4/5 star you tend to expect it) The people above me were masquerading as elephants and God knows what they dropped on the floor at one point but it made one hell of a racket! Then this morning I went there for breakfast and it was piss poor - cold baked beans, scrambled eggs I wouldn't even touch and cold hash browns. Not a happy bunny!!
I was in two minds whether to drive over the Crown range or go the 'long way round' but as there were only signs for possible ice on the road rather than snow I decided to go the scenic route (my favourite route) The weather was swinging between sunny (like in this shot) and cloudy/snowy. Took this shot from my usual spot looking down on Queenstown.
I stopped off in Queenstown for petrol and food shop (it was forking freezing!) and by the time I left New World it was snowing. So have had snow, wind and hail most of the way home from Q'town - but hey am home safely, the washing is on, the food is in the cupboard and I've settled down to watch the Ryder cup winning day :-)

have put some of the camera shots on flickr here if anyone wants a gander. The selection is out of both my mini Canon and 7D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.