analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

Nuptials. GX1, Voigtlander Color-Heliar 75mm.

The day escaped me again so this is another Blip from months past, May 10, 2014 to be precise. I thought long and hard about publishing this image then, and again now with a concern for invasion of privacy. It seems to me though, that when one arranges to be married in a public place, one must expect that strangers are going to take photographs... Here's the background: A friend and I were riding on the Staten Island ferry back to lower Manhattan when, much to our astonishment an entire wedding retinue boarded and formed up for the wedding ceremony to be performed on the main deck. I started snapping away between the shoulders of the surrounding crowd. Suddenly, like the waters of the Red Sea, it parted and there they were. They took one look at me, camera poised, and they assumed this pose. It was extremely gracious of them (under fire) and they did a great job, I thought. But the bride's expression tells us that something is amiss. I rejected this photograph at the time in favor of this one because I couldn't convey the sense of place: the Staten Island Ferry. But I still like the photograph and feel it should be shared.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.