Newcastle life

By Puffling

Redeveloped Central Station

This is Newcastle Central Station on a busy Sunday. It was built in 1850 to John Dobson's design. The station has recently had a multi million pound redevelopment and work continues outside the station. The portico outside (originally added in 1863) previously had a constant stream of busy traffic driving through it, now its been pedestrianised and is now sheltered due to a glass box just within it (giving the impression of the arches having windows, which is not possible due to it bring a grade 1 listed building). I took this photo the emphasise the new open space within the station which exentuates its curved design and gives a clearer view of the castle keep. The people rushing past with suitcases add to the busy atmosphere.

I went to the station to collect my parents from their train after they'd been visiting my brother in London. I then visited my grandpa in hospital and surprised him a fruit scone, jam and clotted cream- a rather posh hospital picnic!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.