stujphoto

By stujphoto

Liddesdale Graveyard

Liddlesdale is a lovely scenic route to the south west of Jedburgh on the way down to Carlisle and I chose to drive down this way en route for the Lake District. There is very little signs of human habitation. I was therefore quite surprised to come across this graveyard seemingly in the middle of nowhere just surrounded by pasture land with hills behind but with no church attached. I did notice that about half a mile further down the road I did pass through a small hamlet which did have a church but did not notice its name. When I had decided to use it as my blip I thought I'd better try and identify it. It was difficult using the map to ensure I had the right location so I googled it just putting in the words 'Liddesdale' and 'graveyard' and was pleased see that the village of Saughtree had a church and graveyard but there was no reference to the fact that the graveyard was well outside the village. Just adding word 'image' actually took me to some photos of the graveyard which has one rather distinctive grave with a canopy above it so I was easily able to establish its identity. Oh the wonders of the world wide web !

PS I decided the mono version was much better and changed it

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.