More Life of Sands

By sands

Childhood Memories

Today is the 5th anniversary of my Mum's death. I still miss her like crazy. She was my best friend and I could talk to her about anything, literally.

She died from cancer - malignant melanoma, to be precise. She was diagnosed in April 2004 and was told she had just a few weeks, maybe a few months to live. But she lived for 10 months and during that time, we made sure we had lots of time together and plenty of fun! She basically stuck her fingers up at the cancer and was determined to live life to the full for the time she had left :-)

She died 2 days before her 65th birthday so Friday would have been her 70th birthday. As such, I am dedicating my blips to my lovely Mum over the next 3 days.

Today's blip shows a Gary Larson cartoon which brings back childhood memories for me. When I was doing my A-levels in 1984, I was busily revising about anatomy and in particular, about animals who have internal and external skeltons but getting myself very flustered about it all. So Mum asked me the question 'What would happen if we didn't have a skeleton?' and then flopped on the floor! It made me laugh my head off and, of course, I never forgot after that.

Just before I took my A-level exams, Mum bought be a Good Luck card and it had this Gary Larson cartoon on the front of the card, which was very appropriate!

Many years later, I had a Gary Larson Desk Calendar and this was one of the cartoons in it. It is stuck on the wall next to my desk and always reminds me of my Mum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.