LaKwAtSeRa

By LaKwAtSeRa

De Blasis Bed and Breakfast

This is my room here in Santiago, Chile.

As soon as i finished breakfast, I asked Andres (owner and staff of De Blasis) to help me with following up my delayed baggage dilemma with LAN Airlines. After a length conversation with the person on the other line, Andres told me that the airlines is still looking for my bag. So in short, from a delayed luggage yesterday that was affirmed was in Sao Paulo to a lost luggage somewhere out there.

I was soo disappointed leaving the hostel for my conference. I took 1 Metro ride and 1 bus ride to get to my destination. The problem was i missed my bus stop and got to the north side of the river and mountain. The bus went past over the river and the side of the mountain onto the other side of it. The ride was so beautiful!

I immediately pressed the stop button so that i can get off at the next bus stop. It turned out there was someone from the conference who also missed the stop and we both got of at the next stop. His name is Verner from Univ of Cape Town in South Africa. We were helped by a man and a woman who didnt speak any English at all. For some reason, I understood the woman owing to the few Filipino words that i recognized. What was so amazing was that there was a stray German Shepherd at the bus stop. Yes, a huge German Shepherd and a stray one. The bus stop where buses that goes back to the south side of the river was still a few meters away across the road. The dog just followed us crossing the road with us as well. I asked the lady if it was her dog and she said "No!" That was then i realized that the "perro" was indeed a stray dog.

We were able to arrive at the conference area safely but a little bit late for the plenary talks. I only found a few posters that I could relate to. There were also "posters" which were several A4 papers placed side by side. I never thought that id see unprepared poster presenters in an international congress such as this one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.