I'm on a boat

Spent a jolly afternoon afloat with the most famous pensioner in town.

The last person who lured me onto a boat with assurances of luxury was back in the seventies, when my Greek holiday romance turned out not to be with a shipping magnate as hinted at, but the owner of the pedalloes on the beach. So my expectations were already low when I spotted pensioner waiting for me in his rowing boat. At least I wouldn't have to pedal this one round the harbour.

But he did not disappoint - his other boat is a veritable gin palace, fitted out to P&O standards. There's a kettle, a sink, and even a toilet of sorts. It's like a posh floating wendy house. And he threw in a free lesson on all things nautical. I never knew there were over a thousand names for different types of rope.

Here he is with his mates in a video he made on the boat a few years ago.

Song





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.