Still Here!

By Yorkhull

Wedding week: No 1: newborn

Decided that I had to theme this week as the wedding gets closer after all the chat this weekend. So putting various pics on Facebook for those that follow me there and the wedding will be the theme for all my blips this week.

By Friday, Saturday and Sunday they should be live photos for now it's a nostalgic look back.

First off, the birth 19 September 1981. Hannah was in a rush from the outset. Pains started around 9.30 am and we were quickly off to the hospital. Confident I knew my way to the maternity ward I had not practised the route. Got to the hospital but found myself in an area of the hospital where, though I could see the maternity hospital, I could not drive there. So we abandoned the car and walked the rest of the way.

On arrival H was barely twenty minutes before arriving into the world. 11.25 am. I had had to withdraw from the final cricket match of the season, a relegation battle and now sat there thinking (but not voicing) I could have played! Anyway left baby and mum sleeping and returned home to ring round, took a bit of time without mobile phones, texting, Facebook, Internet etc. but was still able to go and watch some of the game before returning to the hospital.

Obviously the man in the picture is a younger me and the woman is my Mum, still with us at 91 and so excited by the wedding on Saturday. Needless to say H is the baby in the pic!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.