boldsans

By rubyjones

Bagging hotels.

Explored the island today.
Specifically very expensive, chic hotels.
Just to see how the other half lives.

Getting past security was down to being able to blag
an imaginary lunch appointment, or just striding through
without looking at anyone in the eye.

My favourite hotel/resort was gorgeous. Fucking gorgeous.
Very stripped back.
Minimalism that shouts: Fuck off! You can't afford to look at me.
The reception area was a simple open wooden platform in the middle
of a tropical forest with a ceiling that appeared to float. Yes.
All the staff were dressed in loose, silk pajamas.
It was like a fucking cult. Or a mental home.
They were all smiling and waving goodbye to leaving guests.
I'm pretty sure they had just stopped singing 'So long, farewell'
from The Sound of Music.
You could tell it was a very expensive place, some of the staff were white.

Then we managed to walk up the simple dark wooden stairs through the tropical forest to the pool area. I fell to my knees, and cried. It was beautiful.
I know it's only a pool. But the way it was sitting against the sky and
sea was beyond lovely. And I just couldn't help myself.

Then security caught up with us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.