More Life of Sands

By sands

Birthday Present

Today would have been my Mum's 70th birthday and this is the last of my three-day tribute to her.

This statue was one of two my brother, Mark, and I bought her for her 64th birthday just about 6 weeks before she was diagnosed with her terminal cancer.

Mark had actually bought her one larger statue from a place near where he lived at the time in Chiswick, London. Mum hadn't really liked the statue we originally bought her but we were cool with that and had said Mark would take her to change it for something else sometime soon.

When Mum was diagnosed, she was admitted to Addenbrooke's Hospital, Cambridge for some radiotherapy for 2 weeks. She was allowed to go home during the middle weekend and we took her into London to change her present. She chose 2 smaller statues and this was one of them. We then went for a lovely pub meal and a walk around Kew Gardens. It was such a lovely day.

I think about Mum every day. I think she would be proud of what I have achieved in my life since she passed away and I always feel she is with me every step of the way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.