Day out

Managed to get a day out of Muscat and travelled up to Nizwa, a couple of hours drive away. It has a fort, a souk and used to be the capital of Oman. I looked forward to it and had a splendid day.

The drive up was spectacular - excellent road cutting through the mountains. Heavy lorries had made their impact and the inside lane was badly cracked in places. On arriving in Nizwa, there was the usual driving around lost until I found the centre.

Going through the old gates to the fort, the first thing you come across is the 'craft' part of the souk. As I approached, a men's singing group started up which I thought was rather nice of them. Singers swaying gently to the rhythm of the song, drummers keeping the beat and some men were dancing gently around waving their swords. It was a real treat.

The blip captured the activity best. Including the enthralled kid who tried to join in as best he could and an intrusive photographer. Just like me.

It was a non-confrontational souk so I was able to make it to the fort without harassment. The fort was also a delight, nothing grand or spectacular, just a fort with lots of info on Oman life and good views around the surrounding countryside to the mountains.

In fact I spent some time there and I felt good enough to leave with the intention of going to the souk to buy something. Alas, all the stalls/shops were closed.

Apart from a bakery where I got a chicken tandoori pizza for lunch. Honest. Real fusion cooking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.