what we did today...

By SarnieV

Feeling inspired!

Today's blip is of a wall display of examples of willow fishes that were to be made in the workshop I ran at The Fertile Grounds conference in Dunbar. The conference was put on by the arts organisation North Lights Art
"with the aim of creating a space to nurture a conversation exploring creative ways to engage communities in the potential for change through public art with an environmental agenda."
It was very inspiring to listen to the speakers talk about some fantastic projects, ranging from the Sustainable Dunbar, Matthew Dalziel (Dalziel&Scullion), the Hepworth Wakefield, the Environmental arts Festival Scotland and the local North Lights Arts. Great to meet lots of like minded arty folk and catch up with artists I've not seen for a long time. I feel full of ideas and potential!
I led a workshop making willow fishy things - it was lots of fun. Great that I managed to convince some grown ups to have a try - so many think they are "rubbish at art" or "don't have a creative bone in my body". Not so great that I had to be interviewed by the guy from Summerhall TV - hope I never see it!
The drive back was lovely too as I watched the sunset over the Pentlands in a brilliant blaze of orange - but there was nowhere to stop to blip it so it's fishes instead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.