Mindseye

By Mindseye

Canals and Cruising

I picked mum up this morning to bring her back to our house for the day. Our youngest and his wife were coming to join us for dinner later too.

I said to mum that we were taking a slight detour on the way back so that I could get my blip for today. I'd already decided I would take her down to the canal where some narrow boats tend to moor up regularly.
Reason being, as some of you will now know, my mum and dad had 3 narrow boats during their time together. During their retirement they owned a cottage on the canal bank so were lucky enough to be able to have their boat moored up outside their front door! Eventually they had to sell the cottage and boat as they got older and moved to the bungalow where mum still lives today.

Needless to say when we parked up at the canal today and mum saw the boats she was delighted but then also a little sad as the memories came flooding back of the special times they had had boating and living by the canal.

As you can see from this shot mum looks happy to be by the canal again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.