Cygnus

By Cygnus

In the Vatican

If yesterday was Ancient Rome day, today was Holy Roman Empire day. We had our first experience of the Metro - not too bad, very busy, but we only had to travel 4 stops.

We found our way to the impressive walls of Vatican City and then bypassed the hundreds of people standing in a monster queue as we had booked online for the Vatican Museums!

It was really well organised, not at all like the chaos at the Colosseum yesterday. The end of the tour was at the Sistine Chapel and I immediately looked for God and Adam. Fantastic, but not as moving as I thought it would be, probably because of all the wonders I had seen up to then, including rooms full of beautiful frescoes by Raphael.

This photo is of the stairs you take to exit the Vatican Museums. I got left behind as I paused to blip! I took a lot of photos with the iPhone today, but this is my favourite. The Ards Man took some great shots on the Canon, but we have no way of uploading images here.

We returned to the hotel via a bridge over the Tiber, which gave us wonderful views of Castle St Angelo. We paused for ice-cream (the best!) with Prosecco (me) and Peroni (the AM). All in all, a very good day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.