Nearly Cooked Goose

Her goose has not been cooked which I fear is more than can be said for her compatriots who I haven't seen since last Christmas down on the Severn. They were exceptionally tame and maybe that is the problem with befriending wildlife - somebody WILL have it for dinner. There is a pub opposite I wonder if they have had goose on the menu?

Trauma of the day on my walk:

Facing bared teeth and curling nose through a metal gate, we came face to snout with a very unfriendly Siberian Husky, who had galloped away from it's owners. Tilly went ballistic and grabbing her on a 1 inch lead we saw this dog growling ferociously and snarling trying to push underneath. The nose, head and then the shoulders were nearly through and I just knew there was going to be a full scale battle. You could see it in his eyes. Calling to the owner I shouted in my best teacher voice that would have carried to the back of a theatre, the one that means 'you will stay behind after school'..or 'be in detention' or worse, to call his dog OFF! No answer. The dog by this time was halfway through only being kept at bay by Tilly who was going to protect me no matter what although it wasn't me he was after. 'He's only a puppy!' came floating over and he managed to extricate said 'puppy' monster from under the gate. Well...la la...HE wasn't the one facing those jaws and teeth - it was quite frightening!! I knew just what I was going to have to do if it had got through - the little darling! Our goose wasn't cooked thankfully!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.