at home with an Ivysaurus

By MoGrant

BATH!!!!!

Being able to take a photo of Ivy happily in her tummy tub again makes me so happy. We've had almost a fortnight of her screaming at the meer thought of baths. She wasn't quite lounging on the sides with her feet up, but it was definite progress. I don't know if she just reached the end of a phase or if I tricked her into it this morning. What I did was strip her to her nappy and then go for a shower myself with the plug in without inviting her in to play - then when I was done showering I sat down in the bath to play with the toys whilst she tried to climb into the bath and eventually resorted to a 'MAMaaaaaaaaa!' and waggled her finger at me. So I took my telling and put her in the bath too.

She's cracked a new technique for climbing today. What she does is put her arms on the foot stool and walk her feet up the sofa behind her, then once she's lying on teh footstool she crawls backwards to get into the sofa. I have a photo to illustrate.. She adapted the technique to be able to climb onto our bed for the first time ever.

This morning she was very pleased to discover the huge tub containing 11literes of jelly on the kitchen floor. It's slightly runnier than I meant it to be, but Ivy liked putting her hand into it and then looking at her hand through the jelly. She helped me add coloured dried pasta to the jelly vat and ended up with slightly blue hands. woops... Going to make her her very own tub of jelly to play in later this week- she can even eat it afterwards. She did try and sneak into the kitchen clutching an old spoon granny grant gave her for her birthday and shovel jelly from the tub into her mouth- so we had to lift it up off the floor so there'll be some left for tomorrows playgroup party.

She's definitly getting her appetite back. Got her some sausage rolls to snack on in the afternoon and she ate her dinner of macaroni cheese followed by bread and butter pudding with gusto. She also spent alot of today eating my clothes- whilst I was wearing them. The cuffs on my hoody seem to be a particular favourite- she bites them and then shakes her head about like a puppy. I had to draw the line at socks though....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.