Texann Times

By Texann

Sugar rush

Halloween has now come and gone. Well, almost. The scary costumes, the yard decorations (as demonstrated and discussed in yesterday’s blip), the haunted houses set up in our neighbours’ garages, the cute kids shouting “twick aw tweeeet” as they skipped up our driveway and, of course, the dreaded bowl of candy!!!

I was being so good at the beginning of the evening. As soon as dark fell, there was a sudden rush of small creatures tearing excitedly around the streets with adults in tow. Leejohnaire and I were sitting outside our front door, happily dolling out large amounts of candy to the various groups of superheroes and Elsas, holding out huge pillowcases already bulging at the seams. Then came the lull, so we tried a Milky Way… just to make sure they tasted the same as last year you understand. Then the stream of children dried up completely. I looked in the bowl I’d been clutching and there, to my horror, sat a large amount of candy and nobody was coming to demand it of me.

What was a girl to do…?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.