intothehills

By intothehills

No place for jokes

A substantial part of my youth was spent in Lytham St.Annes - my early years weren't happy ones - and subsequently, as I've blipped before (here) I really really don't like the place. But I've got family here & sometimes you've just got to suck it up.

One of the things that Lytham (& more so St Annes) is know for is that its largely a retirement community - and substantial building is quite probably some form of retirement, care or nursing home. When we were younger & less understanding "God's Waiting Room" seemed apt - but now as I watch my Great Aunt enter what must surely be the last days of her life I can see that for her, with the level of care she needs, this has turned out to be a blessing. With little or no savings she's still ended up in a fantastic home - with a bay window view out onto the sand dunes & the sunset & far more importantly - attentive & well managed care - now all these homes don't seem quite so funny.

But if there's one thing I am certain of in this ever changing life - I won't be coming back here in my final years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.