intothehills

By intothehills

Gluten

One of my pet hates is people photographing their food to put on FB etc.
& yes this is that kind of thing somewhat isn't it!

About a month ago I decided to seriously try & reduce the gluten & specifically wheat in my diet - I'm enough of a realist to know that going 100% is pretty much impossible - but its also quite easy to reduce it a lot. My reasoning was the number of stories other climbers were telling me about the benefits they were getting from reducing inflammatory ingredients from their food - as climbers have a disproportionately high incidence of arthritis - and I suffer a lot with my hands in winter when I'm climbing hard at the wall - it seemed worth a try.
To date I've been impressed - its early days - but my joints do seem to ache less - sure I still take ibuprofen - but usually now just at breakfast - a big improvement from last year.

Today then - well out for lunch & I ordered the BLT & Soup combo on autopilot - wow - who'd have thought brown bread would be the over riding taste sensation of any BLT - yummy. I've immediately resolved to make sure there's at least one 'bread' meal a month from now on (I made the same deal with pasta right at the start!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.