The before and after

The crab Apple jelly looks fine and I had some fun - yes, I know - balancing the jar of jelly. The aim was to introduce some light and make the jar look more interesting.

For a clear look you must avoid squeezing the muslin bag when the juice is draining, I obeyed the instructions but perhaps over cooked the fruit, it could be clearer but not something to bother about.

To add the sugar you measure the juice and work out 10 parts juice to 7 parts sugar. Once the sugar is dissolved bring to a rolling boil. I have a sugar thermometer to bring the temperature to 220F although tend to use the plate test as well. It always takes an age to reach setting point, the concern is that the end result will end up a rubbery mass. However the result is good, the taste is tarty and sweet.

The angle of the blip is a tad off key, I preferred this to the straight version although didn't notice until reaching the publishing button.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.