November theme challenge; time. 1,2,1,2 ….

Anniemay is always hoping I’m going to be able to step up to the microphone and sing again.  In anticipation of a successful voice operation, she bought me a Mic Mechanic (the red thing).  No pressure then.

You’ll often see a guitar player move to the front of the stage and stamp their foot.  This is not because they’re in a huff, although it is, I suppose, a form of attention seeking.  

There will be a small box on the stage wired up to the guitar and when the guitar player stomps their foot on it, the box changes the sound of the guitar - perhaps louder, more resonant - with what we might call ‘a bit more oomph’.   These devices are known, not unsurprisingly, as ‘stomp boxes’.  

The Mic Mechanic is a stomp box for the human voice.  The idea is that it will give my vocals a bit more ‘oomph’ - my natural ‘oomph’ having been consigned, some 4 years ago, to the surgical waste bin at the John Radcliffe hospital in Oxford.

I’ve been asked to take part in a concert at the end of Feb next year (the day before we leave for Oz and Mollymay).  I’d really like to be able to take part and make music with my friends.

It’s about time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.