Kitchen help extraordinaire

I have a new gadget for the kitchen, and I cannot wait to get home each evening this week to try out some new culinary twist.
Herald our new halogen oven — fancy something quick and easy for lunch, dinner or supper, I’ve become the super chef in our house again.
When a few weeks ago after a spell away we returned to find our previous halogen oven had died on us, I too, felt mortified.
I have to admit that when my wife bought our first halogen cooker, powered for heat by a strong halogen light, I was just a little cynical about what the machine could do, then still not believing that a single light bulb, however powerful could cook a complete meal.
Yet friends who had already tried this method of cooking couldn’t sing its praises high enough.
The proof soon outweighed any doubts I had held and I soon found that I was relying on it more and more in preference to our conventional electric oven.
So when I saw the same make of machine on offer at our local German owned supermarket last weekend, I could not resist the temptation to replace the old machine.
Every day since, I have found a reason to use it, and believe me, as ugly as these little machines are, they are really extraordinary.
And cook just as efficiently, if not better than the conventional oven. Anything from grilled sausage or crispy bacon to a full scale joint or whole chicken in much less time and therefore saving on power. Yes, we have roast potatoes, baked cakes and found it especially good for baking fish. Even oven chips!
Now, what’s on the menu for tomorrow?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.