AlrightFlower

By AlrightFlower

It's a nice day for a...

I was musing as I sat on the dinky plane this morning (why do you sit on a plane, not in it?), waiting for the pilot to put his foot down and get us into the air, that I've travelled alone to a dozen or so different countries over the past 10 years, 3 months and 6 days since I became newly single and restarted my life. I've mostly, 99.9% loved it, but the only bit I don't like is the planes. Don't mistake me, I've no fear of flying (or should that be a fear of crashing?!). Rather, I'm always conscious that, when my neighbour arrives at his or her designated row, their heart must sink. For aeroplane seats are not made to accommodate an arse the size of mine. Throughout the whole flight, I am acutely conscious that I'm spilling over into their space. Perhaps they're no skinny minny either, so the outside of our thighs are smushed together which is a particularly unnatural position to be in with a complete stranger. So I try to make myself as small as possible, squished against the inner skin of the aircraft, leaning away from the poor unfortunate next to me. Thankfully, today's flight is only 45 minutes, but the 10 hour flight to Goa was a chore! I guess what I mean to say is, spare a thought for the fatty on the plane - you might not be thrilled that they've got the seat next to you (and perhaps a little bit of yours) but chances are they're uncomfortable too!

Anyway, after arriving in Belfast and sitting on the Tarmac for 15 minutes while they sorted out the fire alarm in the terminal (last time I was here - a good few years ago - it was more likely to be a bomb scare) I came out to Crawfordsburn to a lovely hotel. They very kindly swapped my room so I could check in quite a few hours early, and even scoured the hotel to find me a gold pen to write out the card. For the reason I'm here.

My lovely friend Geri, who has not had the easiest of lives, was to marry the love of her life and the father of her two beautiful children. I can't express to you how happy I am for her, and how much I believe she deserves this. I haven't posted a photo of her because I think it should be her prerogative to post her own wedding photos first. I will say she looked stunning in a cream lace dress and amazing pink shoes, which I absolutely loved and which are the very definition of "sky high".

It's been a lovely day, and evening, and I'm now very drunk. I'm not easy in the company of strangers, as some of you will know, so today has taken a lot out of me. But I met some lovely people who spared me a day sitting alone staring at my phone. I've chatted, eaten, drank and boogied the past 12 hours away and now, after telling my lovely friend that I wouldn't have missed this day for anything, I can go to sleep.

Goodnight x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.