Texann Times

By Texann

Busy Bee

Woke up this morning with my back absolutely crippling me again. Really had hoped it was recovering.

Spent part of the morning breaking down our old table-football (foosball) table. Well, Lee had to do all of the physical work and I labelled the parts. We rarely use the table now, so one of our neighbours came over to pick it up for his young, soccer-fanatic son. I was sad to see it go as we’ve had it since we moved here, but it will now be enjoyed again and we’ll have some extra space in our spare room.

One of our other neighbours had asked me if I would take their family photos today, for their Christmas card. For those of you elsewhere, it’s very popular in America (or at least in Texas) to use professional photos of your family, printed in card format, rather than enclosing your annual, personal snaps with a commercially-printed card. Obviously, our friends have decided to forgo the ‘professional’ aspect of their cards this year! I did feel very honoured and flattered to have been asked.

I have to say, I had a lot of fun taking pictures of them in various poses and with a couple of cute props. Luckily for me, they’re a very sweet and photogenic family, so I think I have some really nice pictures for them to use.

They may have struggled a bit watching me wincing badly as I got in and out of the car as, they have now brought over their inversion table for me to borrow in the hope of helping my back a bit. I’ve heard of people exchanging services but have never been in a position to do it before - I like this trading business! What’s more, when I was actually taking the photographs, my back barely complained at all. Perhaps I’ve found the cure!

All in all, I had quite an active day.

I would love to blip one of the funny, candid photos I took of the family, but that might spoil their Christmas card surprise (for those who see my photos on Facebook), so instead, here’s a picture of a bee. It was flitting around our bottle brush flowers this morning. Not as entertaining, but I do like the overall effect. I wonder if he'd like this picture for his Christmas card?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.