twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

Bob's Place of Work

Back blip thingy.

This is one of the reasons I take photos; otherwise I forget so much.

I look at this and it reminds me of so much. That I arranged to meet him for lunch; there's a secluded sunny spot out the back here where we sat for half an hour and chatted. He was supposed to do the Highland 550 MTB race but whilst out training over Easter weekend managed to get attacked by ticks and got Lymes Disease; this was his first or second day back at work and despite being a fit active guy, he looked a shadow of his former self. But the first time in a while I'd seen him; he works away on the road a bit; and he'd been training a lot for his 'race'.

Bob and I have done approx. 150 Munros, mostly together since the mid 90's. We grew up on neighbouring farms and have known each other a long long time; not the best of mates but - you know - pretty close.

About two months later, he exploded at me - via Facebook message re: my separation; said I was an idiot and how appalled he was at my behaviour.
I said 1' It's got nowt to do with you; 2. You have NO idea what I've been thru'. 3. I thought friends supported you in times of strife.

So that was that; we've not spoken since and I kinda remember this as the last time we really sat and spoke. And then - there was no indication of him having any issue with me; I'd been separated for over a year at this point.

But sad that someone I've known for 30 years feels they cannot have me around any more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.