Mindseye

By Mindseye

The 11th hour, on the 11th day, of the 11th month

They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old:
Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.
At the going down of the sun and in the morning
We will remember them........

From Laurence Binyon's poem For the Fallen, written in September 1914


This blip just materialised almost all by itself this morning........
I had dropped hub off at the station as he was off to meet up with his pals for lunch in Manchester. So I took the opportunity to have a scout around Wigan for todays blip.
By the time I had parked the car and began walking towards the centre of town, there was light drizzle in the air.

I headed for the covered market area as it has an upstairs gallery and I thought it might offer protection for me and my camera, and give me some different views and angles, which it did, but the sky was too grey and flat to create anything interesting by way of a decent image.

So I decided to head into the Galleries shopping arcade and I found myself leaning on the balustrade of the upstairs balcony, right beside the large clock, as the public address system announced the two minutes silence as a mark of respect for Armistice Day. As you can see I quickly snapped the clock as it struck 11 o'clock and there I stood, reflecting, like everyone else around me.

I am pleased with this shot, but somehow all that "sparkle" around the clock on such a sombre day doesn't quite sit right.........does it?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.