madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Light fantastic?!

Well this is soooo what I did not have in mind for today's blip!!!
I kidnapped Kess in the afternoon once the howling gales had blown themselves out and it was still and the light gently fading, to accompany me into the woods to get a photograph for derelict thursday. Her greeting reminded me just how wonderful a dogs affection is! I remember an Eddie Izzard routine where he expounded on the difference between cats and dogs. The owner is putting up shelves and the cat is watching with a critical eye thinking "That will never hold, you are doing it all wrong," the dog looks and thinks " I don't know what you are doing..... but I love you!"
So we trundled along, me obsessed with looking for "That shot" and Kess obsessed with her ball. What a pair! However once at the building I had in mind my battery gave out!! So the rest of the walk I had time to look and think, Kess, even if I had hidden her ball, would have found a stick instead and would still not have cared about her surroundings. She is a rescue dog and has an unhealthy attachment to having something in her mouth!
I thought about the events that rooted me in this area - at Cotehele alone I walked my own dog for many years, have taken my parents and friends there for cream teas, walked with WWW ( Women Who Walk), attended events like the food and Christmas fair, singing carols in the long hall under the flower garland ( I lie - I mimed as am incapable of singing in tune with others!!), I have attended a Hen Night, ( at which I organised a ModRoc casting of the hens breasts!) the subsequent wedding in the old orchard, the planting of 2 trees for a friends twins and the planting of a tree in memory of one of my class who died very unexpectedly. All the children I have taught have had Profound and Multiple Learning Difficulties, with health issues, and some children have very limited time. But it is those children who go when they are not high on your radar for complications and emergencies that literally take your breath away. So all this anchors me, the joyous and the sorrowful.
So after these happy and sad memories I took Kess with me to lock up the chickens, had a cup of tea with my friends and teased their son, confessed that I sniffed dogs in the hope they would smell like my old dog ( Kess does by the way!) and came home to have fun choosing my blip.
They were all useless! So I returned to my idea of photographing Amelias shedded skin! Much fun with lights from my school resources in the bathroom - and quite pleased with the result! Pleased enough for her to to be my blip anyway! Does it count as a blip for derelict thursday? I will let SarumStroller be the judge of that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.