Monday: Full Freezer

I had a day off today which was a welcome treat.  We got back pretty late last night and, I don't know about you, but I can't come home and go straight to bed.  So it was good to  know that I didn't have to get up early today.  Added to that, K. flew to the UK this afternoon so we were able to have most of the day together and then I could take her to the airport.

You'll be pleased to see that she has left me my usual supplies of pre-cooked meals.  I know I am spoilt!

I won't linger tonight - I have to be up at 0445 for a trip east.  Problem is I'm not sleepy yet so I will take my book to bed and see what occurs.

Talking of books, I have finished two recently:

'Mr Norris Changes Trains' by Christopher Isherwood.  It is one of the two books that formed the material for 'Cabaret' - one of my absolute most favourite films ever  - the other book being 'Goodbye to Berlin'.  It didn't disappoint but the film will always be definitive for me, even though I know it's the wrong way round.

The other was a play, a German classic, 'Draussen Vor Der Tuer' (anyone know how to do an umlaut on a Mac?) by Wolfgang Borchert, a slim volume which also contained some short stories.  They were written shortly after the end of World War II and contain the complete trauma of war.  I am not sure if they are available in English but, if they are, well worth a read.

480

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.