Dubai

Yes. This is a brochure view. Jumeirah Beach which offers sun, sea and sand in this "Las Vegas of the desert". I must admit I could fancy relaxing in luxury in this paradise.

I had never been outside Dubai airport before. I took a trip which showed the contrasts and gave some idea of the history and the achievements. The world's tallest tower, Burj Khalifah, skyscrapers, air conditioned bus shelters, a mosque on every block, the world's most numerous and biggest shopping malls.

And old Dubai. The creek. The museum developed carefully from a fort, with wind towers. The Spice Souk (I bought some saffron from Iran). The Gold Souk (I was tempted too).

Arriving and seeing the skyline through the mist was wonderful.

And tonight we're going to watch the musical fountains on Burj Khalifah lake. I've loved it so far, but I can see it for what it is.

A dramatic final destination before we fly home tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.