Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Mammoth on Eastlake

First of all, thanks to everyone who gave me much appreciated advice and information about my computer issues yesterday! What a great bunch you blip folks are! Now my latest updated Aperture won’t work with the new Yosemite. Sigh. But I got the photos on there via iPhoto….and will trudge into the Apple store again when I can manage it. (All the more reason to get Lightroom methinks….) Transferring all my photos to a new drive took overnight….

Anyway, last night I went to a very interesting lecture about the archeological history of our Eastlake neighborhood. When I see all those ancient rocks from the British isles or ruins in Italy it makes me think we have no history at all here in the USA. Maybe not so old with the humans here, but there was certainly activity. The Archeology professor from the UW and the Burke Museum of Natural History talked about the last 20,000 years here and how the shorelines for our nearby lakes have changed And how all the projects going on in Seattle right now provide the opportunity for archeological digs. (The Huge big 3 are the Alaska Way tunnel and new sea wall by Puget sound, the new 520 bridge that traverses ancient settlements, and the new Sound Transit Light rail being built from the airport to the University district . ) Washington State has some serious laws that make it illegal to knowingly acknowledge gravesites and human remains and keep on with the project. Hence, there has been a lot discovered recently. I know, way too much for blip, but I thought I’d connect this new “Mammoth” Beer and Sandwiches place that is going in on Eastlake Ave, (one of my onestreets.) with the mammoth tusk that was excavated last Feb. from an apartment building site in South Lake Union where there is phenomenal building going on right now. Talked to a woman in the restaurant today and she said not only are their sandwiches going to be mammoth (!) but it was definitely connected to the nearby archeological find. A glacier formed our landscape from about 20,000 years ago to about 16,000 years ago when it “quickly” receded. The mammoth Tusk was found under this glacier layer so it’s older than that.

to read about the project of mapping the shoreline: Waterlines.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.