Pygmy Falcon (Polihierax semitorquatus)

Lillian called me to snap this one this morning! I have seen him circling above our house on many occasions, but he is always só high, it is difficult to get a clear picture!

This one sits on a lightning conductor in the neighbouring Thatch Haven Estate! All the houses have thatched roofs and it is compulsory to have a conductor because we get serious lightning here when we have thunderstorms. It is very high, I am not sure of the exact height, but, as you can see, my falcon looks like a small bird, for sitting só high up in the air!

This little falcon is a shrike-sized raptor that sits very upright on an exposed perch from which it hawks lizards and insects. It's flight is undulating. It breeds in a chamber of Sociable Weaver nests and the call is a noisy 'chip-chip' or a 'kik-kik-kik-kik' call.

This picture is somewhat clearer I think, but I liked the 'Landing' one for Blip! Note how he looks down, searching for prey!

BIG is better!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.