biodiversity

By LoJardinier

Loquat

I haven't studied trees enough. Till the other day, I called anything with long leaves that wasn't a chestnut a medlar, or neflier in French. Then out for a walk with friends, a small tree was pointed out and I was asked what I thought it was. The conversation showed that I knew very little. Back home and a search in the botany library revealed a bit of confusion - both in them and in me. So, this tree I picture above, and which is found most often in gardens here is in fact a Japanese medlar, or loquat (Eriobotrya japonica). It's similar to the common medlar (Mespilus germanica) but the difference is that the former flowers now, in late autumn.
It was seen on a late afternoon walk with M. 'It's too dark for photos' she said, 'This lens makes its own light', I said, and it does, the magical 50mm 1.4 that Teleri loved so much she bought three: for herself, for me, and for our daughter.

Cryptic answers:Blipper's LOG TEN T(w)O three: (Logarithm base ten of 100 is 2)
It's lisTEN TIME! STENtorian voice shouts, let's talk about tea. I don't HUNT(d) RED bush, that's FO(u)R PONIES. I prefer green, its sCENT is such a TONic if you're feeling TENSE, QUEER, Depressed (Ten squared). It's expensive, but drink some ONE NOUGHT, NOUGHTy though it is. Teapots? I've got FIVE. SCORE bonus points if you've got more. Hope that has SENT YOU REfreshed (century)into the rest of the day.

Oh well, I enjoyed it anyway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.