From Across the Pond...

By transatlantic

Za Beetelle

Whenever I see one of these battleaxes around the city it reminds me of my old French housemate Vincent, who is apparently gallivanting around New Zealand right now. The Beetle remains a mystery to me in that it has a reputation for being fun to drive, but is actually terrifying in most conditions; it?s known to be die-hard, but breaks down every other time you drive it. So I guess if you know a little about driving and a little about fixing cars, it's an awesome vehicle. Vincent and I certainly put a hell of a lot of km's on his 1968, and it made our South African excursions more fun than they'd otherwise have been (even when we were riding down the highway at a 45-degree angle on the back of a tow-truck, since the guy had his wife and dog in the cab).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.