at home with an Ivysaurus

By MoGrant

Parralel play

I was watching Seb this morning- turns out i'm the WORST babysitter ever. There was blood....

Seb accidentally broke a glass jug on the floor (he's ALOT taller than Ivy and can reach all sorts of places she can't), I put them both out of the living room so I could clean it up. Didn't realise Seb could open our doors. Trying to herd two curious toddlers whilst cleaning up glass that had smashed into every corner of the room was a real challenge. When I was done, I suddenly realised there was a little pool of blood in the hall. Checked everyones feet then realised Seb's hand was bleeding. I cleaned it wit a wet cloth and it kept bleeding, so I wasn't quite sure what to do so took Seb across the road to one of our neighbours who I could see was in, leaving Ivy standing in the doorway in her pjamas looking abandoned, till I went back for her (can't carry them both at once). Our lovely neighbour was super calm and cleaned Seb up and put a plaster on him. When I got back to the house, Ivy went 'mama?' and held up her hand which had a little piece of glass in it- I hadn't even checked her hands after Sebs. A completly disasterous morning, but everyone is fine now (my nerves are shattered though).It's amazing how much fingers bleed from tiny cuts. Our hall looked like a massacre had occured, and the poor sofa cushions need washed AGAIN.

I took them both to playgroup and had Bryony whose a nurse check Sebs cut to see there wasn't any glass left in them. Euan boiled up some tapioca balls for sensory play and the kids loved it.

We all had lunch of sausage rolls, fish figners and potato animals and Ivy and seb ate loads before both going down for afternoon naps. I think having them both asleep at the same time almost won me back enough style points to make up for all the spilt blood....

I think Seb was pleased with Katy came to get him, Ivy was bossing him about alot- she marched round showing him all the things that are 'myne' and even pushed him when he wasn't doing what she wanted (seb is about twice her size so it was ridiculous). He looked a bit hen pecked by the end. We're trying to iron out the bossy side of Ivy's nature before she becomes a total monster!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.