Here there and everywhere

By digitaldaze

Walk like an Egyptian

Might be the start of a series. Taken from the taxi this morning on the way to work.

Today was a better day than the others this week. I don't want to tempt fate till the week's over, so will write more about the week at the weekend! I had a surprise breakfast a-la-Egyptian style this morning, when one of the Egyptian teachers was ordering in breakfast for a few people and asked me if I'd like something. 30' later I was given two delicious baladi breads: one stuffed with foul (Egyptian beans) and the other with falafel and salad, washed down with a Beano's cappuccino. This was at 10.30am. I'd been in since 8am, so my early morning porridge and banana was wearing off!

Tonight, I joined another teacher and two of her friends at the Opera to see Tosca. Great seats and wonderful music, all for 100 LE, so around 10 euros! The behaviour of the Egyptian audience though was shocking. Mobiles went off all night, photos and videos were taken despite it not being allowed, people had full conversations without any attempt to whisper, and didn't think twice about going in and out during the performance!! Still, it was a lovely evening, worth the rush to get there and hopefully worth the early rise I have tomorrow morning now to do a couple of hours work before going into school at 8am! This might be the start of opera nights in Cairo!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.