Grounded

By grounded

Disrupted Travel Plans

A good start to the day. I love Fridays! Work was good as I felt that much was achieved today. However at lunchtime I discovered that British Airways had announced their strike dates. Boooooo!

Typical that they pick the weekend we are booked to fly to Edinburgh to celebrate my step-daughter's 27th Birthday. A short weekend where I arrive back at Gatwick early evening on the Fri so we had booked to fly up on the Sat and return on the Sun. We even have seats booked at the Playhouse for Petticoats and Dreamboats!

So a long conversation with hubby on the way home, led to us deciding to sort out our plans now, instead of waiting to see if there might be a flight and being worried that it would be late and our weekend would be ruined if we were late up there and missed the theatre.

So I got home and went straight to 'Manage your booking' where thankfully BA had done their best in providing clear options and within a few clicks of the mouse pad, we had cancelled our flights and got a full refund. Next I rang the parking I booked at Heathrow and again a full refund.

New plan was leave on the fri as soon as I arrive home from Gatwick. So booked a room for £22 at the Travelodge at Knutsford services on the M6. Should get there by 11pm. Then we will drive straight to Edinburgh on the Sat and should be there by lunchtime. On the Sun we will leave about the planned time but instead of a flight south we will drive to Mum & Dad's and stay the night. Then Monday morning we will return home.

So all in all plan sorted. Cost probably similar by the time we pay for travelodge, and parking in Edinburgh and fuel. But it has cost us both a day of leave on the Monday!

Just pleased it's all sorted and we know what we are doing and not left worried or unsure! Not good for BA!!! I wonder how many others cancelled flights today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.