First Minister of Scotland

Well, I've gone the whole hog and joined the SNP. So today was SNP women's conference at Ayr Racecourse. Luckily no racing today so I wouldn't have to sneak off, rescue the race horses and no doubt get arrested. Gillian appeared in the wee small hours to crash at the hotel before we headed along to see for the second time in as many months what 1000 women in 1 room feels like. But this time not Women for Indy/Indy Quines stuff but an actual political party. It was a wee bit different, though I think ironically the old institution could learn from (and is open to) learning from the new institution.

Gillian was kept busy early while I had time to people watch as the delegates arrived; there is no stereotypical SNP women, they come in all shapes, sizes, and ages. Some great speakers but Nicola Sturgeon was the business, without question. Granted, I could have done without the fireworks (I hate fireworks, it's not X factor!) but overall, out of the whole day, only two statements jarred with me. Surprise wee turn by Liz Lochhead at the close was great, then I scrounged a lift from Gillian all the way home Ayr to Aberdeenshire.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.