Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Under Yew

Visited the local church at lunchtime in search of a blip. While there I bumped into the local vicar, Simon, who remembered me from over two years ago. He recalled that I was looking to do a 365 photo project (doesn't time fly). We passed the time of day; he had just been on sabbatical walking a Welsh religious trail.

In chatting I explained how I loved the early mornings and sunrises and he suggested I check out a poet called Mary Oliver and one of her poems, "Why I wake early". It struck a chord, have a listen.



Anyway, deep under the tall yews in the churchyard lay this chest tomb, lying forgotten. I noted that the language was very similar to modern times with only the word 'relict' not in common use. It literally means 'left behind'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.