Sailfish

By sailfish

Within These Walls

When I was about seven I was given a series of books about great explorers. One of the explorers was Marco Polo, the book described his travels and the wonderous things he'd seen. One of the many wonders in this little book was the Great Wall. I still have the book, and since I first read it I've wanted to visit the Great Wall.

Today I walked along the Mutianyu Great Wall, just north of Beijing. It was fabulous to be there on a sunny day, under blue skies, and with very few other people around. I didn't want to leave.

My guide timed the visit perfectly, we were on the wall when the sun started to go down and turned everything to warm brown and gold. I don't think I'll ever forget today!

Oh, and I visited the Temple of Heaven this morning which was equally stunning but hasn't been on my wish list quite so long.

Oh, and I've been on Blip for five years as of yesterday, hurrah!

Oh, and this morning I saw elderly couples dancing in the sunshine to the Dambusters March - a trifle unexpected!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.