Silent reflection

Most of the time I don't crop too much. Not that I am one of those purist who believe that to crop is to commit a heinous crime against true photography. I will crop if I think it improves the image. This one I had to reluctantly crop more than I would have liked with the result being the subject is too close to the viewer. The problem is that my favourite lens has developed a problem that even the techno experts have failed to solve. I get a largish random black smudge in the bottom right of the picture in about 6 in ten shots. I have gone over all the usual suspects and their assured cures for such an infliction, but alas all has failed to solve the issue. I even resorted to paid help from a Nikon technician. The experts have let me down. I can continue to use the lens and crop or I could resort to photoshop - I hate photoshop - or I could discard the lens and replace it with a new reversed and improved edition. It is not 100% proven it it a lens issue. Could be the sensor, but the problem only occurs with this one lens, so I suspect the lens based on flimsy evidence. It really is a pain in the arse as one is inclined to say.

By the way, the personage in the frame is cycling legend Steve Bauer. Thanks Steve.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.