Rodents rule

By squirk

Historical backdrop

I forced myself to sit in the park at lunchtime, on the grass with my packed lunch, a takeout coffee and a book. Unfortunately, my coat had to be taken off to provide a waterproof layer between the damp grass and my bum, and it was just a little too chilly to be without a coat. I survived the full hour, though, and when I needed to warm up, I stopped reading and found stuff to photograph. I plumped for a section of Cleopatra's Needle for my blip. It towers above the park, but not many people ever give it a second glance. Zooming in with my camera, I picked out scarab beetles. The Needle is the most ancient monument in London and deserves to be looked at a whole lot more than it currently is.

Back at home, I'm a little concerned about Sybil guinea pig. Her front right leg is splayed at an odd angle and she's not moving about much at all. However, she seems quite chipper otherwise and is eating and drinking. There are no lumps or bumps, and she doesn't squeal with pain when handled and examined. So it's perhaps just an ailment of an aging guinea, but I'll feel easier once I've rung the vet tomorrow and made an appointment for her, just in case.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.