Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Lighthouse

"One could believe that God signed his great work with a stamp of beauty". The historic lighthouse is one of the most famous in the world....at least that is what we have always heard. It really is a beautiful and unique structure. Up close, it stands tall on a cliff high above the ocean. Its weathered white paint is traced with trickles of rust. One of the most photographed lighthouses and today, I had the opportunity to photograph it. As I stood at its base, I was amazed at the history that was standing in front of me. Amazed that ships can see this light from over 20 miles out to sea.

The light keeper's house has always been a wonderful mystery to me. A beautiful historic home that seems so peaceful and serene......but it has a story. And the story is that it is and has always been haunted. Haunted by a ghost named "Rue". A Mother who continues to mourn the loss of her child. We have heard so many stories about this. Most urban legends. Some 'real' from people that we know. Many many people from the area can tell you a story about about "Rue". When I looked up the history of the lighthouse and the light keeper's house for this blip, several websites were dedicated to the fact that yes indeed, this house is haunted. Some believe and most do not. But this is the history. The history that we have heard about ever since I can remember. My parents laugh about it and my Mom says, "Well I don't know" and my Dad says, "No way, no such thing as ghosts". I sort of believe in "Rue".

Today we had such a nice time at the beach. The weather was perfect and the kids had a great time building sand castles and collecting rocks. We hiked up a gorgeous natural trail all the way up to the light house and stood in awe of the amazing view of the Ocean. I was able to grab some very scenic shots. I even captured the spray of the water hitting the rocks below. I actually thought that it would be my blip until we were driving back towards town and I asked my Dad to pull over at the look out spot. The view was breath taking of course and after seeing the image pop up on my screen, I knew right there that I had my blip. Over 100 photos later and the LAST photo of the day.....became my blip!

It was a beautiful day on the Coast and it was a family day on the Coast and we enjoyed every single minute of it together as a family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.