A Plumbers Wife!

By hebsjournal

Goodbye money

Apparently, the average cost of a wedding in the UK is anywhere between £15,000 to £25,000.

What do people spend their money on?!?!

Here's me crying over the remaining £20 note in my purse, feeling a little teary-eyed after paying the balance on our wedding last night, and also going out and buying goodies for the children who are coming to the wedding (11 children aged 1 and a bit up to 10 years old!). I went a bit bonkers. I only went to Asda to buy chicken for tea, instead I got Lego Racers, colouring books, teddy bears and other bits and bobs.

However, having read that the average cost is as ridiculous as it appears, then I think I've done pretty well with ours. Partly achieved through being a complete tight-arse git, and not paying for a drinks package or a 'wedding breakfast'.

Late afternoon wedding - there was a bit of sense there ...

3.30 - Ceremony
4pm - Canapes and Bucks Fizz, photographs and mingling
6.30pm - move to reception room
7pm - hot buffet served ...eclectic choices - Toad in the Hole, Chinese Chicken Stir Fry, Herb Kaboulliac (vegetarian), English Garden salad, Pasta salad with herbs and other bits and bats, Pimentos in vinaigrette dressing with mozzarella.
8.30 (ish) - speeches, cake cutting (pudding!) and first dance
9pm - drinkie drinkie, dance, dance.
Early hours - sleepy sleepy ....maybe ;-)

Have to go to sleep shortly, as I have a full day of Safeguarding training, which I know, from a couple of other colleagues who have attended it, will be hard work and harrowing most likely. I am not looking forward to it, but it is a necessity, so I will get on with it.

So, those of you who will be guests at the impending nuptials - eat lunch before you arrive!!!

In other news ....

My Dad did retire yesterday. I didn't get to call him last night, because the phone kept ringing at this end. But he sent me an email ....which I read at work first thing before the day started, whilst having my brew ...and nearly choked laughing at this ...

"must remember that I am an OAP and entitled to be abusive to young people and push them off the pavement and their bikes"

Thanks AP - you are a comedy genius! Do you want to make a speech at the wedding?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.